Asian Fencing Championships 13-18 April, Wuxi


At the 2015 Asian Fencing Championships Jiao Yunlong (CHN) won the gold medal in men’s individual épée, an event that had been won by either Korean (8) or Kazakh (3) fencers since 2003.

Jung Jin-Sun (KOR) won three of the last five individual épée gold medals at the Asian Championships, with Elmir Alimzhanov (KAZ, 2013) and Jiao (2015) winning the other two editions since 2011.

Elmir Alimzhanov can become the first Kazakh fencer to win this event multiple times since 2003. Alexandr Axenov (KAZ, 2003) and Sergey Shabalin (KAZ, 2005) both also have one win in this time span.

Defending champion Yuki Ota (JPN) can win men’s individual foil in consecutive editions for the second time in his career. He previously set a streak of three successive wins between 2007 and 2009.

Heo Jun (KOR) won the individual foil in 2013 and 2014 but finished only sixth in 2015. A third win would see Jun only chase Yuki Ota (4) for most wins in this event since 2003.

Chinese fencers have won the individual foil a tournament-high five times since 2003, but their last win came back in 2012 when Lei Sheng (CHN) took the gold.

Men’s individual sabre has been won by a Korean fencer at the last seven Asian Championships: Gu Bon-Gil (KOR, 4), Kim Jung-Hwan (KOR, 2) and Won Woo-Young (KOR, 1).

Last year Kim dethroned Gu who had won this event in three straight years from 2012-2014. Since 2003 no other fencer than Gu has won men’s individual sabre at consecutive Asian Championships.

Zhong Man (CHN) was the last non-Korean fencer to claim the individual sabre crown when he won the gold medal in 2008.

Kazakhstan can win men’s team épée at consecutive Asian Championships for the first time since they recorded back-to-back wins in 2004-2005.

Since 2008 either Korea (6) or Kazakhstan (2) won men’s team épée. The last other team to claim the gold medal in this event was China in 2007, when the competition was also held in China (Nantong).

China aim to win men’s team foil event for the tenth time since 2003. Only Korea (2, 2012 and 2013) and Japan (1, 2009) have also claimed the team foil gold medal in this time span.

The last time China failed to win men’s team foil was in 2013, when the competition was last held in China (Shanghai).

Korea have won the last three editions of men’s team sabre at the Asian Championships. The last team to win this event at more consecutive editions was China in 2007-2010.

China was also the last team to win this event before Korea’s current winning streak commenced, as they won men’s team sabre in 2012.


With her victory last year Xu Anqi (CHN) joined Luo Xiaojuan (CHN), Choi In-Jeong (KOR), Li Na (CHN) and Tan Li (CHN) as fencers who have won women’s individual épée twice since 2003. No woman has won this event three times in this span.

The last woman to win women’s individual épée at consecutive Asian Championships was Li Na (2007 and 2008).

Since 2003 only Chinese (8) and Korean (4) fencers have won women’s individual épée.

Nam Hyun-Hee (KOR) won five of the last seven gold medals in women’s individual foil. Compatriot Jeon Hee-Sook (KOR, 2013 and 2015) claimed the other possible two gold medals in this span.

The last non-Korean to win women’s individual foil was Chieko Sugawara (JPN) in 2008.

Kim Ji-Yeon (KOR) can equal Tan Xue (CHN) on a tournament-high three wins in women’s individual sabre since 2003.

Last year Kim – the winner in 2013 and 2014 - was dethroned by Shen Chen (CHN).

Chinese fencers won women’s individual sabre seven editions in a row between 2004-2011 and 2010-2014.

Korea is reigning champion in women’s team épée. They can become the second team to win this even at back-to-back editions (since 2003), after China who won five in a row between 2003-2008 and 2010-2014.

China have won 10 of the last 12 gold medals in women’s team épée. Korea (2009 and 2015) are the only other team to have claimed a gold medal in this span.

Korea have won the last seven editions of women’s team foil. China won the five editions prior (since 2003).

Japan have claimed the women’s team foil silver medal on five occasions since 2003, more than any other team (China next with four).

China (2010, 2012, 2014) and Korea (2011, 2013, 2015) have won the gold medal alternatively at the last six Asian Championships in the women's team sabre.

Wuxi schedule - Live Results

More Stories

More Stories