Men’s and Women’s Team Sabre – Moscow Fencing WCH 2015 - Preview

At the 2014 world championships in Kazan, Germany broke Russia's three-edition winning streak in men's team sabre by winning this event for the first time.

Nicolas Limbach (GER), Max Hartung (GER), Benedikt Wagner (GER) and Matyas Szabo (GER) won the gold medal for Germany and will all be competing at the forthcoming men's team sabre event again. Germany became the eighth country to win a gold medal in this event, after Hungary (16 gold medals), Soviet Union (15), Russia (8), Italy (5), Poland (4), France (3) and Romania (1).

Russia have won seven of the 11 men's team sabre events this century, winning four in a row from 2001-2005 and three in a row from 2010-2013. Of Russia's 2015 team, Alexey Yakimenko (RUS) has won most gold medals in this event (5). He could join Viktor Sidyak (URS), Georgy Pogosov (UKR), Eduard Vinokurov (URS) and Andrey Alchan (URS) on six gold medals in this event.

Hungary have won a record 16 gold medals in this event but have claimed only a single gold medal in the last 12 editions (2007). Hungary can equal its record streak of six consecutive editions without a gold medal in men's team sabre. They previously went six in a row without winning the gold medal from 1983-1990 and 1999-2006.

The Montano family has claimed a combined 15 medals in men's team sabre at the world championships. Aldo Montano (ITA, 23 Nov 1910) won three gold medals and one silver medal, Mario Aldo Montano (ITA) claimed two silver and three bronze medals and Aldo Montano (ITA, 18 Nov 1978) has taken four silver and two bronze medals so far. Aldo Montano (1978) most recently claimed a medal with Italy in this event in 2011, bronze.

Korea claimed the bronze medal in this event in 2013 and took the silver in 2014. They are yet to win a gold medal in men's team sabre.

Women’s Team Sabre

Among countries, Russia has been most successful in this event, winning six from an available 15 gold medals. No other country has won this event more than three times.

Russia has also won most medals in the women's team sabre (10). It has collected six gold medals, two silver medals and two bronze medals. Russia last won this event at the world championships in 2012. Then, it was their third world title in a row, a record in this event.

United States are the titleholders in this event. They have won it three times in total, but never in back-to-back world championships.

Sofya Velikaia (RUS) is the most prolific competitor in this event. She is the only fencer to have won four gold medals in this particular event.

Velikaia and Olga Kharlan (UKR) have both won seven medals in this event. Only Mariel Zagunis (USA) has won more, eight.

This event was not contested at the London 2012 Olympic Games. It was last on the Olympic curriculum in 2008, when Ukraine took the gold medal before China and United States.

All about World Fencing Championships Moscow 2015

Follow #FencingWCH2015 #RoadToRio #Fencing

Twitter - Instagram - Facebook

More Stories

More Stories